Board of Director Members
Decrease FontIncrease FontPrintPrint

Dr. Doug Cochrane - Chair

Dr. Doug Cochrane is the chair and provincial patient safety and quality officer of the BC Patient Safety and Quality Council.

Dr. Cochrane is professor emeritus at the University of British Columbia in neurosurgery. Previously, he chaired the BC Patient Safety Taskforce and has served as a member of the board of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute. 

Dr. Cochrane was appointed Board Chair in September 2017. 




Karen Hamling

Karen Hamling served four terms as the mayor of Nakusp. Hamling retired after many years at the Arrow Lakes Hospital, most of which were spent as the Health Records Supervisor. She previously owned two businesses and is an active member in the community.  Ms. Hamling is one of the original directors and founders of the Nakusp and Area Community Foundation. She has sat on several committees including the Nakusp and Area Development Board, Community Futures Development Corporation of Central Kootenay, Halcyon Home Redevelopment Committee, Southern Interior Development Trust, and Columbia River Treaty Local Government’s Committee.

Ms. Hamling received an Honourary Diploma in Community Leadership from Selkirk College in 2017 and is a recipient of the Diamond Jubilee Medal for Mayoral roll.
Passionate about her community and the health care system, she has worked to improve health care in her community.

She is a mother of two, grandmother of six and great-grandmother of three great-grandchildren. 

Spring Hawes

Spring Hawes is an entrepreneur with extensive experience as a business owner and employer. She currently owns and manages several commercial and residential properties in the Columbia Valley, in addition to being a business partner at Evolve Fine Used Furniture. Ms. Hawes has served as councillor for the District of Invermere, participating in and leading multiple committees and working groups. She was also the president of Access in the Community for Equality, an accessibility advocacy group.

Ms. Hawes is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in English at Athabasca University. She is involved in the community as an advocate for the equality of women, people with disabilities, and the full inclusion of all marginalized people. 
Diane Jules
Diane Jules has been President of the Sexqeltkemc Ltd. Partnership since 2010. Previously, she served four terms as an elected Band Councillor for Adam Lake Indian Band and as President of Adams Lake Band Development Corporation.
Ms. Jules has served as Vice-President of the Secwepemc Child and Family Service Board and was an integral part of the First Nation Education Council for School Districts 73 and 83 for almost ten years. She holds her Business Certificate from Cariboo College.
Ms. Jules was appointed to the Board of Directors in January of 2015.


Dr. Selena Lawrie

Dr. Selena Lawrie is a family physician passionate about working with people, communities and organizations to improve individual and population health and wellness. Her clinical work has included over two decades of broad scope family medicine from rural to urban, in-hospital, maternity, indigenous and community care.
Dr. Lawrie was the founding site director of the University of British Columbia Family Practice Residency Training Program in Kamloops, as well as the founder and former President of the Supporting Team Excellence with Patients Society. She was also instrumental in the development of the UBC Family Practice Learning Centre in Kamloops and a member of the BC Physician Health Program steering committee.

Dr. Lawrie remains the site director of the UBC Family Practice Residency Program in Kamloops, and is a current member of the BC Primary and Community Care Research Advisory Committee.
Dr. Lawrie was appointed to the Board of Directors in September of 2017.  

Allan Louis

Allan Louis serves as a councillor of the Okanagan Indian Band (OKIB), maintaining a focus on ideas and initiatives meant to benefit the membership. Formerly, he served as co-chair of the Aboriginal Education Committee for School District 22 and member of the First Nations Health Council. Mr. Louis is currently appointed to the operating board for OKIB group of companies responsible for management LP and forestry LP and is appointed to the Assembly of First Nations on the Chiefs Committee for Health which works with the Federal government to improve health services for First Nations across Canada.
Mr. Louis is the owner of Maximum One Venture and previously worked in managerial and advisory roles with Vernon Travel Lodge, the Casino of the Rockies and Cranbrook Dodge.
Mr. Louis attended Okanagan College.

Cindy Stewart

Cindy Stewart is the retired president of the Health Sciences Association of B.C. She was vice-president of the BC Federation of Labour and a member of the executive board of the National Union of Public and General Employees. Ms. Stewart served as one of two labour representatives appointed to the joint advisory committee to the arbitration bureau, and was a member of an adjudication committee for one of Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council’s three 1999 strategic programs: Society, Culture and the Health of Canadians. She holds a bachelor of science in rehabilitation medicine from the University of British Columbia and has worked as physiotherapist.

Ms. Stewart was appointed to the Board of Directors in September of 2017.


As a step towards reconciliation, Interior Health acknowledges the land that we live, work, and play on as the traditional territories of the Dakelh Dene, Ktunaxa, Nlaka’pamux, Secwepemc, St’at’imc, Syilx and Tsilhqot’in peoples. It is with humility that we continue to strengthen our relationships with the First Nation, Métis, and Inuit peoples of the interior.
MoH     PCQO